Brisbane community theatre needs red wine.

what if scrabble

A few weeks ago, I had a wonderful conversation with a theatre colleague about what it’s like to work in community theatre in Brisbane. I came home excited and empowered to do more, not because what we had talked about had never been thought of before but because we had the same thoughts about the challenges and possibilities for community theatre.

One of the difficulties of sharing your thoughts online (in my case this Idiot project) is that you can feel like you are living in your own head. To share ideas, possibilities and challenges with like minded people, face to face, fires you up to make an impact, to keep going and look for ways to encourage change.

I love to be on stage but what really fires me up is directing because I have the opportunity to facilitate others in creating something that challenges them to grow and be extraordinary. Sharing the Idiot’s passion for community theatre and how it can impact individuals and groups means putting myself out there for others to love or hate and I’m ok with that. What I fear the most is creating no reaction at all.

I want to share big freaky possibilities with others who think the same way I do. I want to sit at a large dining table, enjoying good food, drinking a little wine and listening to wonderful conversations happening around me. Conversations that are free of ego and centre around passion, courage, drive and possibilities for Brisbane community theatre.

If we’re going to encourage others from a position of strength and skill, we have to create an atmosphere of support that allows for the impossible to be considered possible; where phrases like “we’ve always done it this way”  are faced with a united force that challenges the norm.

I want to be part of a group of big thinkers that get beyond talking and actually create change that will help our community theatre scene thrive.

If you’re reading this today and it seriously sparks your passion in the same way, you might be one of the Idiots I’m seeking to join me, to think big and imagine what would happen if …

Think about it.

Cheers, Sher.

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia.

sherrylleesecomb@gmail.com

